What types of facilities and systems need to be permitted?
Operating permits for the following types of facilities and systems are issued by Water and Wastewater Treatment Program:
- Water Treatment Plants - includes surface water, and ground water treatment facilities. Point-of-use treatment systems are not individually permitted but are permitted as a component of their respective Public Water System.
- Wastewater Treatment Plants - includes facilities treating domestic sewage but excludes non-pretreatment industrial wastewater treatment facilities and non-hazardous liquid waste facilities.
- Treatment/Disposal Wetlands - includes wetlands treating domestic wastewater but excludes wetlands treating or disposing of reclaimed water.
- Reuse Water Systems - including irrigation and disposal systems, lakes and impoundments, water features, booster pump stations, pressure reducing valve stations and flow control or monitoring stations.

Operating permits are not required for the following types of facilities and systems:
- Reclaimed Water Facilities - including recharge basins, injection/recovery wells, storage reservoirs and booster pump stations.
- Sanitary Sewer System Odor Control Treatment Facilities.

Projects to construct and/or modify any of the above facilities or systems require review and approval by the Water and Wastewater Treatment Program prior to undertaking the work even if the facility or system does not require an operating permit. Additional information about the approval process may be found on the Approvals Page.

Show All Answers

1. What types of facilities and systems need to be permitted?
2. When/how are permits renewed and how much does it cost?
3. How can a permit be closed?