Board of Health

  • The next Board of Health meeting is scheduled on Monday, January 22, 2024, at 3:00 p.m. The meetings are located at the Public Health Administration Building.
  • The public is invited to attend meetings in person.
  • Any public meeting information will be available on this site at least 24 hours before any meeting.


The Board advises the director and requests from the director information it deems necessary. The Board makes rules and regulations, consistent with the rules and regulations of the Department of Public Health for the protection and preservation of public health. 


The Board of Health meets on the fourth Monday of January, April, July, and October at 3:00 p.m.

Public Health Administration*
4041 N. Central Ave., 14th Floor,
Phoenix, AZ 85012


Monday-Friday 8AM-5PM (excluding observed holidays)

*Please note that services to the public are not provided at this location.

View Meeting Agendas and Minutes.

For updates to this webpage, please contact

Current Members

Representation Member Current Term
District 1 Cynthia Hardy 08/23/2023 - 12/31/2025
District 2 Dr. Matthew Farber 04/20/2022 - 12/31/2024
District 3 Robert D. MacMillan, Vice President 04/07/2021 - 12/31/2023
District 4 Joanne Osborne, President
03/01/2023 - 12/31/2023
District 5 Lorenzo Sierra 08/09/2023 - 12/31/2024
At-Large Mary Schraven 11/16/2023 - 12/31/2027
At-Large Veronica Oros 08/23/2023 - 12/31/2024
At-Large Paula Banahan 04/07/2021 - 12/31/2023
At-Large Dr. Debra Baldauff 04/07/2021 - 12/31/2024
Physician Representative Vacant  
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors Bill Gates, District 3 01/25/2023 - 12/31/2023
Director of Public Health Marcy Flanagan, Ex-Officio  
  1. Member Qualifications
  2. Duties & Powers
  3. Formation Authority

Member Qualifications

A.R.S. § 36-183

  1. In a county having five Supervisorial districts, the Board of Supervisors shall appoint a board of eleven members consisting of a member of the Board of Supervisors, a physician licensed pursuant to title 32, chapter 13, or 17 and 5 citizen members selected for their interest in public health, each citizen member to be a resident of a different supervisorial district so that all 5 supervisorial districts in the county have representatives on the board. In addition, 4 citizen members shall be appointed from the county at large. The term of office of the physician member and each member appointed pursuant to this subsection shall be 4 years.Appointment to fill a vacancy in the membership of a board caused other than by expiration of term shall be for the unexpired portion of the term.
  2. Appointment to fill a vacancy in the membership of a board caused other than by expiration of term shall be for the unexpired portion of the term.
  3. The director of a county or city-county health department shall serve, without vote, as an ex officio member of the board.
  4. Citizen members appointed pursuant to this section shall not be county health department employees.

For additional member qualification information, see Bylaws, Article IV.

  1. Mitchell Lach

    Assistant Director, Dept. of Public Health

  2. Rebecca Sunenshine

    Disease Control Div Medical Director

  3. Public Health

    Physical Address
    4041 N. Central Ave.
    Suite 1400
    Phoenix, AZ 85012

    Fax 602-506-6885

Related Documents